This website uses cookies to ensure site visitors get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies and Privacy Statement. To find out more, please visit Southern University's Privacy Statement.

I agree

Faculty and Staff Directory

SEARCH FILTERS

BUILDING ABBREVIATIONS

AHSS = Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences Building
BAB = Bashful Administration Building
CBA = College of Business & Public Administration
CEHD = College of Education and Human Development
CC = Conference Center
HPE = Health & Physical Education Building
HOUS = Housing / Residential Life
ITC = Information Technology Center
LCMC = Lake Campus Multipurpose Complex
LIB = Leonard S. Washington Memorial Library
MB = Maintenance Building
MCSSWB = Millie M. Charles School of Social Work Building
NATSCI = Natural Sciences Building
SBI = Small Business Incubator Building
UC
= University Center

 

Photo Name Title Email Phone
Abdul-Salaam, Connie Abdul-Salaam, Connie, M.A. Assistant Professor n/a n/a
Adams, Bruce, M.S. Chief of Police badams@hnl-sz.com 504-284-5432
Adegboye, David S., Ph.D. Professor of Biology dadegboye@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5097
Aldridge, Precious Ph.D. Associate Vice-Chancellor, Student Affairs paldridge@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5043
Alexander, Camille Administrative Specialist/Supervisor/Budget Manager, Social Work calexander@hnl-sz.com 504-284-5453
Alijani, David, Ph.D. Professor and Chair of Computer Information Systems dalijani@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5142
Altamirano, Marco Ajunct Instructor

maltamirano@hnl-sz.com

 
Amedee, George, Ph.D. Emmett Bashful Endowed Chair and Professor, Political Science gamedee@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5392
Dr. James H.  Ammons, Jr. Ammons Jr., James H., Ph.D. Chancellor ChancellorsOffice@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5311
Dr. Kimberly Andrews Andrews, Kimberly R., Ph.D. Associate Vice Chancellor for Institutional Effectiveness KAndrews@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5326
Atteia, Bashir, Ph.D. Atteia, Bashir, Ph.D. Professor of Biology batteia@hnl-sz.com 504-284-5405
Karla Ayala Ayala, Karla Library Specialist, Library kayala@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5385
Azzarello, Robert Azzarello, Robert, Ph.D. Associate Professor and English Program Coordinator razzarello@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5060
Bachus, Sherry, Ph. D. Child Development and Family Studies Chair/Director and AAFCS Accreditation Coordinator sbachus@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5334
Bailey, Timotea, M.A. Director of Student Services, College of Business and Public Administration tbailey@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5193
Ballard, Jairus MHI, RHIA, CLT, CTR  HIMS Program Director/Assistant Professor    JBallard@hnl-sz.com (504) 286-5083 
Barrilleaux, John, MME, RHIA APAR Coordinator/Assistant Professor  JBarrilleaux@hnl-sz.com (504) 286-5095
Beaulieu, Cynthia K., B.A. Director, Small Business Development and Management Institute cbeaulieu@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5032
Beaulieu, Samantha Beaulieu, Samantha, M.B.A. Retention Counselor, Department of Natural Sciences sbeaulieu@hnl-sz.com 504-284-5493
Dr. Rachid Belmasrour Belmasrour, Rachid, Ph.D. Associate Professor of Mathematics rbelmasrour@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5116
 Bianchini, Aline Financial Aid Counselor/Coordinator of GO Grant abianchini@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5263
Bilbo, Erica Transcript Clerk, Registrar’s Office and Student Records ebilbo@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5178
 Bocage, David Assistant Director/Academic Coach dgbocage@hnl-sz.com  
Bonneé III, Peter Bonneé III, Peter Chief Information Officer pbonnee@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5038
Bordenave, Diane, Ed.D. Assessment Coordinator / Associate Professor, Child Development and Family Studies dbordenave@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5204
Boudoin, Jada, MBA Director of Admissions and Recruitment jboudoin@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5315
Bowman, Breyale Help Desk Technician bbowman@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5254
Boyd, Sonita Financial Aid Counselor/Coordinator of Federal Work-study sboyd@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5263
Briggs, Charles, Ph.D. Chair of Business Administration, Associate Professor, Business Administration cbriggs@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5173
Brown, Kyra C.  Coordinator, Career Services

kcbrown@hnl-sz.com

504-286-5347
Brown, Ria Administrative Assistant III rbrown@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5141
Cains, Deborah, Ph.D. English Instructor dcains@hnl-sz.com n/a
Cantrell, Harry

Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice, Pre-Law Advisor 

hcantrel@hnl-sz.com  504-286-5540 
Carson, Celina P., Ph.D. Associate Professor, Child Development and Family Studies, Institutional Accreditation Liaison for SACS-COC ccarson@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5042
Chaisson, Rebecca, Ph.D., LCSW Dean of Social Work / Associate Professor rchaisson@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5378
Clement, Christian, Ph.D. Clement, Christian, Ph.D. Associate Professor of Biology cclement@hnl-sz.com 504-284-5406
Coleman Jr., Joseph, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Psychology jcoleman@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5372
Cook, Bree E., Ph. D. Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs bcook@hnl-sz.com   
Sheridan X. Cooper Cooper, Sheridan X. Coordinator of Community Service Learning, Student Development Center / Title III Program scooper@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5362
Coulon, Kendal Office Manager/Institutional Advancement/Facility Rental Management kcoulon@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5129
Craft, Gwendolyn Operational Officer, Purchasing  gcraft@hnl-sz.com  
504-284-5403
Darby, Deborah, Ph.D Assistant Professor, Elementary Education ddarby@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5041
Dr. Raymond Delaney Delaney, Raymond M., Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Criminal Justice rdelaney@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5367
Dickerson, Troy L. Dickerson, Troy L. Adjunct Professor, Forensic Science tdickerson@hnl-sz.com n/a
Dorsey, Kevin Men’s Assistant Basketball Coach    
Douresseaux, Laura, MSHCM, CHPS, RHIA Assistant Professor / Clinical Coordinator, Health Information Management Systems ldouresseaux@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5091
Marguerite Doyle-Johnston Doyle-Johnston, Marguerite Administrative Assistant, Academic Affairs MJohnston@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5381
Aimane Ederouich Ederouich, Aimane Data Scientist, Institutional Research Staff AEderouich@hnl-sz.com n/a
Eid, Haitham, Ph.D. Director / Associate Professor, Museum Studies heid@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5010
Ekaidi, Ibrahim, M.D. Ekaidi, Ibrahim, M.D. Professor of Biology iekaidi@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5110
Elaasar, Mostafa, Ph.D. Professor of Physics melaasar@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5036
Etienne, Aretha Etienne, Aretha, BSEE, MCIS, MACJ Database Analyst, Information Technology Center aetienne@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5259
Eweni, Samuel, Ph.D. Associate Professor / Developer, Computer Information Systems seweni@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5268
Falik, Adam, M.F.A. Assistant Professor, College of Arts and Sciences afalik@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5152
Faulkner-Parker, Tina Faulkner-Parker, Tina IT Security Administrator/Trainer, Information Technology Center/Title III Programs tfaulkner@hnl-sz.com 504-284-5545
  Fields, Amy Bursar afields@hnl-sz.com  
Fields, Raven Women’s Assistant Basketball Coach

 rfields@hnl-sz.com

 504-286-5190
Dr. Kenneth Foy Foy, Kenneth, D.Min. Assistant Professor, Psychology kfoy@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5372
Frederick, Linda D., M.A. Director, Student Support Services lfrederick@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5106
Freeman, Derrick, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Social Work dfreeman@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5079
Freeman, Heather Associate Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management and Student Success/Director of University College  heather.freeman@sus.edu  504-286-5128 
Gaillard, Laurie Coordinator of Technical Services / Assistant Professor  lgaillard@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5364
Gethers, Shelina A., B.S. Administrative Assistant IV, College of Business & Public Administration sgethers@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5141
Gibson, Alonda Payroll Accountant 2, Comptroller's Office agibson@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5021
Dr. Darren Gil Gil, Darren, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Criminal Justice dgil@hnl-sz.com 504-284-5540
Grady,Angel-DNP, RN-BC Assistant Professor, NURS Agrady@hnl-sz.com  504-286-5025
Green, William Administrative Assistant to the Athletic Director/ Men’s Assistant Coach  Wgreen@hnl-sz.com  
Heath, Panagiota "Penney", Ph.D. Associate Professor of Mathematics pheath@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5149
Hegwood, Jenita C., Ed.D. Assistant Professor, Elementary Education, Director, Student Teaching / Field Experience jhegwood@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5353
Krystal Howard Henry  Part-time Faculty Khenry@hnl-sz.com   
Hicks, Georgie University Center Director - Student Affairs  jhicks@hnl-sz.com   
Hicks, Wanda Administrative Assistant IV, College of Arts and Sciences whicks@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5449
Hollis, Sara, D.A.H. Professor, Museum Studies shollis@hnl-sz.com 504-284-5511
Holmes, Darlene Holmes, Darlene Administrative Assistant III, Center for African and African American Studies dholmes@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5006
Jack Jr., Lenus Jack Jr., Lenus, Ph.D. Associate Professor, History ljack@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5157
Jackson, Brenda L., Ph.D Jackson, Brenda L., Ph.D. Vice-Chancellor for Research and Strategic Initiatives / Executive Director of Title III Programs, Title III Programs bjackson@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5274
James, Derrick Director of Facilities / Safety and Transportation djames@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5295
Jenkins, Safia Jenkins, Safia, M.S. Learning Outcomes Assessment Coordinator, Center for Planning, Research, and Evaluation (Institutional Effectiveness) sjenkins@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5101
Johnson, Carl P., Ph.D. Professor of Chemistry and Chair cjohnson@hnl-sz.com 504-284-5461
Johnson, Juliette B. Executive Assistant to the Chancellor JJohnson@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5311
Johnson, Keshaneoco H., MSW, CSW Director of Veterans Affairs, 

Office of Veteran Affairs

kjohnson@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5391
 Johnson, Zackeus Vice-Chancellor, Enrollment Management and Student Success

zackeus.johnson@sus.edu

 
Jones, Kendria E.   Student Support Services/Study Skills Coordinator

kjones@hnl-sz.com

504-286-5126
Jones, Warren, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Philosophy wjones@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5186
Jones III, Willie, Ed.D. Jones III, Willie, Ed.D. Dean, College of Education and Human Development, NCATE-CAPE Coordinator for Accreditation, Reaffirmation and Review of Academic Programs, and Co-Director of the Center for Certification and Teacher Quality wijones@hnl-sz.com 504-284-5520
Kambhampati,  Murty, Ph.D Kambhampati,  Murty, Ph.D Professor of Biology mkambham@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5069
Kim, Dr. Heon Associate Professor of Mathematics hkim@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5146
Kwun, Obyung Assistant Professor, Computer Information Systems okwun@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5137
Lee, Brenda Admin Assistant 5, Chancellor's Office

brussell@hnl-sz.com

 

n/a
Lee, Reashell L. Lee, Reashell L. Program Analyst, Improving Student and Campus-Wide Access and Technology Effectiveness and Upgrading the Banner Application rlee@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5183
Legohn-Tubbs, Cheryl

Community Service-Learning Coordinator and Resource Manager 

 ctubbs@hnl-sz.com

504-286-5365
Lewis, Alex Lewis, Alex Adjunct Professor, Forensic Science alexolewis@gmail.com n/a
Lewis, Christopher Library Specialist clewis@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5332
Dr. Deneen Lewis Lewis, Dr. Deneen Director, Interdisciplinary Studies Program and Enhancement of the General Studies Program dlewis@hnl-sz.com 504-284-5412

Destiny P. Lewis

 Administrative Assistant  Dplewis@hnl-sz.com  504-286-5024
Marinov, Dr. Tchavdar Professor of Mathematics tmarinov@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5145
Marshall, Dr. Douglas, PHD Assistant Professor, Communication dmarshall@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5013
Dr. Karen Martin Martin, Karen, Ph.D., LMSW Assistant Professor, Social Work kmartin@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5053
Manuel, Marilyn
Purchasing Director, Purchasing Dept.  mmanuel@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5020
Martin, Michelle Administrative Assistant, HIMS mimartin@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5099
Matthews III, James A.

Director of Athletics, Head Men's Basketball Coach

athletics@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5197
Sharon McGee McGee, Sharon, MS, RHIA

Clinical Coordinator/Assistant Professor

smcgee@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5098
Mckenney, Holly Adjunct Professor n/a n/a
 Mesa, Ricardo  Cybersecurity Professor rmesa@hnl-sz.com   504-272-7856
Myers, Samuel Audio Visual Director smyers@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5120
Mills, Dr. Chester Associate Professor, English cmills@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5124
Mims-Devezin, Lisa, Ph.D Mims-Devezin, Lisa, Ph.D Professor of Biology, Former Chancellor lmims@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5064
Montegut, Claude Assistant Professor, Social Work cmontegut@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5058
Morgan, Damekia, D.S.W. Assistant Professor, Social Work dmorgan@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5077
Mosby-Wilson, Shatiqua Director, University Library and Enhancing Library Academic Research and Services swilson@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5225
Murray, Jill E. Associate Professor, Social Work jmurray@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5373
Noble, Nyla Ceaser Counselor, Interdisciplinary Studies nnoble@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5105
Oaks, Gary, M.F.A. Assistant Professor, Fine Arts goaks@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5208
Obih, John-Clifford A., Ph.D Obih, John-Clifford A., Ph.D Assistant Professor of Biology jobih@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5068
Odynocki, Dr. Boris Associate Professor, Sociology bodynocki@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5158
Ojo, Ashley Phd. Assistant Professor and Coordinator of the Psychology Department Aojo@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5078
Okpechi, Simeon Associate Professor, Accounting sokpechi@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5305
Olubadewo, Joseph, Ph.D Olubadewo, Joseph, Ph.D Professor of Biology jolubadewo@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5109
Omojola, Dr. Joe Professor of Mathematics and Physics, James and Ruth Smith Endowed Professor of Science jomojola@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5096

 

 

Paige,Kimberly MRC, LRC, PLPC, CRC Director of Counseling Center & University Counselor   KPaige@hnl-sz.com 504 286 - 5127
Payne, DeOrin University Webmaster dpayne@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5416
Phillips, Morkeith Academic Advisor / Intervention Specialist mphillips@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5286
Poudel, Krishna Assistant Professor, Business n/a n/a
Cynthia Ramirez Ramirez, Cynthia Professor, Fine Arts cramirez@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5207
Richter, Mary "Polly" Administrative Assistant III, Natural Sciences prichter@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5245
Darryl S. Roberts Ph.D Roberts, Darryl S., Ph.D  Assistant Professor, Criminal Justice droberts@hnl-sz.com 504-284-5401
Robertson, Jr., Ben Assistant Professor, Social Work brobertson@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5056
Robertson, Clyde, Ph.D Director, Center for African and African American Studies crobertson@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5384
Robertson, Patricia Assistant Professor, College of Business & Public Administration probertson@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5333

 

 

Rose, Tonya Dean, College of Education trose@hnl-sz.com  504-284-5520
Cynthia Roussel Roussel, Cynthia Budget Manager and Post Award Administrator, Project Administration and Enhancing the Administrative Management and Campus-Wide Technology Infrastructure CRoussel@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5236
Rugon, Kim E., Ph.D  Vice-Chancellor, Institutional Advancement krugon@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5342
Russell, Harry Associate Professor, Social Work hacdad1@yahoo.com 504-286-5073
Sanders, Torin T. Assistant Professor, Social Work tsanders@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5055
Scott, Dr. Franklyn Assistant Professor, Criminal Justice fscott@hnl-sz.com 504-284-5464
Sentino, Patrice Assistant Professor, Social Work psentino@hnl-sz.com 504-284-5469
Simien, Andrea E. Simien, Andrea E. Director, Institutional Research Staff asimien@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5244
Singleton, Cartina Data Processing / Communication Specialist CaSingleton@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5235
Singleton, Dr. Cynthia Professor of Mathematics csingleton@hnl-sz.com 504-284-5479
Sisay, Dr. Nebiat Associate Professor of Chemistry nsisay@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5309
Slumkoski, Paula   Office Manager, Cybersecurity  pslumkoski@hnl-sz.com  504-286-5063 
Smith, Destinie S., M.S. Head Women's Basketball Coach destinie.smith@sus.edu n/a
Kelly D. Smith, DNP, APRN, PHCNS-BC, CNE

Smith, Kelly D.,  DNP, APRN, PHCNS-BC, CNE

Chair/Associate Professor, BSN Nursing

KSmith@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5023
Marie P. Smith, M.S. Smith, Marie P. M.S. Accounting Specialist/Instructor, Center for Comprehensive Communication msmith@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5139
Tina Smith Smith, Tina Retention Counselor, Center for Academic Retention, and Educational Success (CARES) tsmith@hnl-sz.com 504-284-5557
Smith-Ross, Camacia Chief Of Staff cross@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5311
Stanley, Kimberly Stanley, Kimberly Assistant Professor/ Clinical and Field Experience Coordinator KStanley@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5044
Stemmons, Warren Network Administrator, Information Technology Center wstemmon@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5228
Taplin, Vonda Administrative Assistant IV, Institutional Advancement vtaplin@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5341
Tate, Dr. Anderson Professor, Spanish atate@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5035
Thompson, Meiko, Ph.D Thompson, Meiko, Ph.D Associate Professor, Forensic Science MThompson@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5307
Tietzel, Illya, Ph.D. Tietzel, Illya, Ph.D. Professor of Biology itietzel@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5111
Torregano, Dr. Michael Instuctor mtorregano@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5045
Dr. Igwe Udeh Udeh, Igwe Dean, College of Business and Public Administration, Alvin James Lawson Endowed Professor of Business and Co-Director of Accreditation, Reaffirmation and Review of Academic Programs iudeh@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5330
Ukpolo, Victor Former Chancellor/Professor vukpolo@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5311
Venable, Cindy E-Learning cvenable@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5166
Washington, Karen M., M.S.W., C.S.W. Administrative Assistant,

Interdisciplinary Studies Program

Kwashington@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5150
Wehle, Arlean Vice-Chancellor for Administration and Finance awehle@hnl-sz.com  504-286-5348
White, Frederick Lab/Network Technician, Improving Student and CampusWide Access and Technology Effectiveness and Upgrading the Banner Application fwhite@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5138
Williams, Joe Mobile Equipment Maintenance Mechanic n/a n/a
Williams, Kenneth Ph.D, CISSP, ITiL v3 Cybersecurity Director klwilliams@hnl-sz.com  (504) 286-5285
Williams, Jamaal K. Director, Student Activities & Organizations jwilliams@hnl-sz.com
(504)286-5086
 
Williams, Lorene Custodian I n/a n/a
Erika Witt Witt, Erika Director and Chief Curator SUNOMA | Assistant Professor ewitt@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5223
Wood, Shelia Director, E-Learning, Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) swood@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5368
Constance Woods Woods, Constance Program Director, Connecting Minority Communities cwoods@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5381
Woods, Kathy, M.A. Academic Coach/Instructor Student Support Services kwoods@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5102
Woods, Niara DirectorMarketing & Communication nwoods@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5344
Yu, Yanjun Assistant Professor, Computer Information Systems yyu@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5169
Zhen, Dr. Yi Associate Professor of Physics yzhen@hnl-sz.com 504-286-5241